Trinity School logo
trinity school logo

All News

Excellent team performance by Trinity students at South West ISA Cross Country trials

23rd January 2015

Our students did themselves proud with a quite exceptional all-round team performance at this week’s Independent Schools Association SW regional trials. Over 350 competitors from more than 20 schools braved the cold to compete in events across Prep and Senior age ranges. The most impressive team result of the day was that of our Senior boys team of Year 11 and 6th Formers, who won their team competition, and the stand-out individual performance of the day was the victory of Jacob Evans in the Year 7 and 8 Boys competition –what a January he is having on the sporting front!

Beth Cooper, Ben White, Lucy Clark, and Dan Williams all did exceptionally well, coming 2nd in their respective events, as did Steffi Marks who finished 3rd in her race.

Hosted by Trinity, on ‘home’ surroundings of the beautiful Haldon Forest Park, the event was meticulously organised by our Head of Key Stage 4 and PE teacher, Mr Rob Larkman. Our thanks to him for a superb event, and also to the army of volunteers (made up of staff, parents and especially 6th Formers) who helped out on the day – a real team effort from the Trinity ‘family’!

All those who positioned in the first 10 places qualify to race for the South West at the national ISA finals, to be held at Princethorpe at the end of next month, so as you can see from the names below, Trinity will be strongly represented. Well done to you all on your success and good luck in the finals!

 Year 5 and 6 Boys:    Benjamin Coen 4th

Year 7 and 8 Girls:    Beth Cooper 2nd Team position 2nd

Year 7 and 8 Boys:    Jacob Evans 1st, Ben White 2nd Team position =2nd 

Year 9 and 10 Girls:   Amity Carr 4th, Beth Riley 10th (No team event) 

Year 9 and 10 Boys:  Top result was Ross McNaught in 12th Team position 3rd 

Year 11 and 6th Form Girls:  Lucy Clark 2nd, Steffi Marks 3rd  (No team event) 

Year 11 and 6th Form Boys:  Dan Williams 2nd, Oliver Holdup 4th,                                       Peter Ingoldsby 6th, Byron Jennings 7th, Sean O’Farrell  9th   Team Position 1st